Written by  – The Town of Queen Creek has been named winner of an Arizona Association for Economic Development (AAED) Economic Development Distinguished by Excellence (EDDE) Award.

The prestigious EDDE Awards honor individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the advancement of the organization and also to the economic growth within the state of Arizona.  Recipients were selected from a pool of nominations made by members of AAED.

The Town of Queen Creek was recognized as Medium Organization of the Year, presented by the Arizona Regional Economic Development Foundation, for its commitment to AAED through leadership positions on various committees and initiatives, as well as its support of advocacy for public policy issues related to economic development.  The town was also cited for its economic development team’s commitment to professionalism, continuing education and leadership.

Two of the three members of Queen Creek’s economic development team serve in AAED leadership roles, with Jennifer Lindley on the AAED board of directors and Marissa Garnett as chair of the AAED Professional Education Committee.

Both Garnett and Lindley have also earned their AZED Pro designation.  Additionally, the pair, along with Doreen Cott, the town’s economic development director, are wrapping up their Master of Business Administration (MBA) degrees from Benedictine University, located at the Queen Creek Communiversity.

In addition to its tireless work on behalf of one of the state’s fastest growing communities and AAED, the Queen Creek economic team is actively involved in several other community and professional organizations, including:

  • International Economic Development Council (IEDC)
  • International Downtown Association (IDA)
  • American Planning Association (APA)
  • International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC)

In 2018, the town of Queen Creek was awarded an EDDE as Small Organization of the Year.

Overall, 10 EDDEs were presented during a virtual awards ceremony at the AAED Fall Forum.  The other winners are:

  • Greg Tilque, CEcD, the William Lampkin Award for Long Term Excellence in Economic Development, presented by the Greater Phoenix Economic Council.
  • Karla Moran, AZED Pro, economic development analyst, Salt River Project, Member of the Year, presented by Pat Davis Design Group, Inc.
  • Jennifer Graves, CEcD, deputy director, Gilbert Office of Economic Development, Economic Developer of the Year, Large Community, presented by Sigma Contracting.
  • Tami Ursenbach, economic development director for Mohave County, Economic Developer of the Year, Medium Community, presented by Concord General Contracting.
  • Tom Doyle, economic development manager for the City of El Mirage, Economic Developer of the Year, Small Community, presented by Speedie & Associates, Inc.
  • Aaron Moon, business development coordinator, ARIZONA@WORK Pinal County, Workforce Practitioner of the Year, presented by Newbridge Technology Solutions.
  • Crystal Pierce, business development representative, CCS Presentation Systems, New Member of the Year, presented by CCS Presentation Systems.
  • Pinal County, Large Organization of the Year, presented by the Salt River Project.
  • Price Corridor, Best of Arizona Award, presented by the Greater Phoenix Economic Council.

“The EDDEs showcase the best in economic development for all of Arizona,” said Carrie Kelly, AAED’s executive director. “Without the work of these individuals and organizations, the economic vitality we see across the state would be nowhere near the high level that we see today.  They truly have a role in the growth of their individual communities and we are pleased to recognize them and their accomplishments.”

AAED, founded in 1974, has a mission to serve as Arizona’s unified voice advocating for responsible economic development through an effective program of professional education, public policy and collaboration. For more information on AAED, visit www.aaed.com or call (602) 240-2233.